Divine, Delectable, Delicious… Banana Bread

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

If you’re on the East Coast, chances are you were hit by Mr. Jonas himself. There was no chance I would venture outside today, so I made a list of tasks I wanted to get done. At the top of the list: taking down the Christmas tree and making banana bread. (And yes…my tree was still up as of 8am this morning. And yes..I already miss having the lights warm the room).

Back to the food! Banana Bread! I was inspired to make this treat this weekend because of my friends over at Bugs and Birds. They just made a Chai Banana Bread, and it looked incredible! The recipe I am using comes from A Cup of Jo. I have loved her site for so long, and it one of the blogs that got me interested in the blogging world. The site overall is amazing. In terms of recipes, they are always simple and perfect. But, I have to admit, my favorite thing she does is her Have A Wonderful Weekend posts – she wishes everyone a happy weekend and post a list of links to explore. ALSO – here motherhood around the world posts are incredible. Go check her out!! 

PS While I got the recipe from A Cup of Jo, it originates from Joy the Baker.

Banana Bread (With Walnuts, Chocolate Chips, and Whiskey)

IMG_4472

Ingredients
2 c flour
3 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
½ c unsalted butter, softened
1 c sugar
2 large eggs
1 ½ c mashed bananas
1 tsp lemon juice
3 tbs bourbon/whiskey
1 c chopped walnuts
1 c chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350F. Either grease and flour loaf pan or use baking spray and parchment paper. (I almost always opt for the second so nothing sticks…like ever). Put aside for later.

In a bowl, sift together flour, baking powder and salt.

In a separate bow, beat your butter and sugar with a mixer until light and fluffy (around 5 minutes). Once light and fluffy, crack eggs into mixture one at a time – waiting 1 minute after adding each egg. Turn off the mixer, scrape down side of the bowl, and add bananas, lemon juice and whiskey. Beat until well incorporated.

On low, add flour mixture until incorporated. Turn off mixer and remove from stand. Add the walnuts and chocolate chips and mix with a soon/spatula. Pour mixture into loaf pan and bake for at least 45minutes (or until fully cooked).

Once cooked, remove from the oven and let cool for 20 minutes before transferring to rack to cool completely.

Thank you both Js for bringing this recipe into my life!!!

What have you been up to this weekend? If are in a Winter Wonderland storm, I hope you are safe, warm and cozy in your home.

With love, Steph

4 comments

Leave a Reply

