Divine, Delectable, Delicious… Medi-Vibe Salad

IMG_3125

Over the past week, I have been in a serious writing rut. It didn’t help that is was cold, and that my camera had to go to the diagnostician! My poor little guy…but don’t worry. He’s back and doing better than ever! Special thanks to the people at Canon. From the tweets to the emails, I had a fantastic customer service experience.

Since I am now back in the game, I just needed to post something. So why not food? And why not what I ate for dinner? Simple enough! Ever since I was a little girl, I always enjoyed eating healthy and adventurously. My parents were very grateful. Fast forward to now, my habits really have not changed. I love my vegetables and would eat them over fast food any day!

While I have always been a healthy eater, I’m not perfect by any means. Oh…and I also have no desire to be. I love to bake, and that’s never going to change. The important thing to take away from healthy eating is “clean” eating. I don’t feel horrible about eating cookies made from scratch; I do feel horrible eating pre-packaged cookies. When I mean horrible, I mean both guilty and actually not feeling well. Pre-packaged foods and me don’t always agree due to my stomach. It doesn’t take much to make me sick or fill me up. Some people say I’m lucky that way. My body naturally wants healthy food. Small victories.

With my continued push towards healthier/clean eating, I have been trying to incorporate more plant-based meals into my diet. My best friend, Alex, is approaching her final year of medical school. She is always talking about how her teachers/doctors recite that this is one of the best ways to eat. Alex encouraged me to try a free trial on Rouxbe. “Roo-be” is the world’s leading online cooking school. It just so happens that you can take a course specifically about the Plant-Based Diet. Don’t worry, this course is more than just recipes. Rouxbe always stresses the basics (ie Knives 101, Safety, Techniques). I recommend fully trying the free trial and really exploring everything the site can offer.  Oh and no need to put in any credit card info for the free trial..so WAY TO GO ROUXBE!!!  P.S. In case you were wondering,Vegan and Plant-Based are not the same. Vegan is political – it’s more encompassing and refers to a LIFESTYLE. Plant-based is simply a diet/food choices.

My Medi-Vibe Salad below was just something I put together quickly with all the new veggies I bought yesterday. I don’t have real measurements because I just chop what I need. So sorry in advance! I also had no clue what to call this salad so I went with “Medi-Vibe” – Mediterranean like salad. I figured since it has feta, olives, chickpeas..it’s pretty close. This recipe is not plant-based due to the feta (& not vegan due to honey). You can simply remove the feta and swap out the honey for agave to suit your needs!

IMG_3129

Salad Ingredients
2 parts Romaine Lettuce
1 part Red Lettuce
1 part Kale (slightly steamed)
Chickpeas
Black Olives
English Cucumber
Celery
Red Onion
Shredded Cabbage
Radishes
Feta Cheese
Garlic Hummus
Baby Bella Mushrooms

Honey-Mustard Dressing Ingredients
1 heaping tbs Whole Grain Dijon Mustard
1 tsp Yellow Mustard
1 tbs Spicy Brown Mustard
2 tbs Apple Cider Vinegar
1/2 tbs Olive Oil
1-2 tbs Honey
Juice from 1/2 Lemon
Salt and Pepper

For the Med-Vibe Salad
Partially steam the Kale. I didn’t have the ability to steam on the stove, so I simply put some kale into a microwave-safe bowl. I added a little water to the bottom and then placed in the clean, de-stemmed, chopped kale. Cover the bowl with a microwave safe plate, bowl, or Tupperware. Cook for about 1 minute. Just pay attention and make sure you aren’t drying out the Kale and that it is steaming. Steam until soft, but still with a slight crunch.

Add all the chopped lettuces & steamed kale into separate bowl. Chop all your veggies and add them to your lettuce pile. Add chickpeas & two scoops of hummus.

Add some dressing and toss! Enjoy!

For the Dressing
Place all ingredients into separate bowl and whisk together. Use the measurement amounts as a baseline and adjust accordingly. If you are not a fan of vinegar, definitely decrease the amount. Also, less sweet dressing = less honey etc.. Also, I only had Whole Grain Dijon versus pureed, hence why I used multiple mustards. Feel free to use what you have. The best thing about these types of dressings is that you really can’t mess them up, and you can easily adjust to taste!

 

Hope you all have been having an amazing week! What have you been up to? Have you been trying any new foods? I’m massively behind in blog reading and commenting!! So happy I am catching up now!

With love, Steph

Leave a Reply

