A Little Gift From the Heart

Flower Glass Memory Box - Wedding

“Breathe, my friend. You are not old, you are young. You are not a mess, you are normal. Extraordinary, perhaps. In the blink of an eye you life will change. And it will continue to change for decades to come. Enjoy it, embrace it…be grateful for the ride. You are not old, you are young. And faith will get you everywhere. Just you wait.” – Abby Larson

IMG_1446 IMG_1449

From cradle to grave. Been by her side since days after her birth. Megan Rose has been my partner-in-crime my entire life. Parties, sleepover, and family vacations…there was no journey that we have not experienced together. When over a year ago my little rose asked me to be her bridesmaid, I could not say no. I knew I had to experience every moment I could with her before these moments were few and far between.

Best Friends

Megan is an unbelievably, strong person. Her husband is in the Air Force, and she has to spend many days alone in Idaho on the base. She is truly a remarkable person, and it is so beautiful to see the depths of their love when you know how difficult their lives are right now.

I am a sentimental person. In high school, I was the favorite gift-giver. Not because I knew the exact knick-knack to buy, but because I made my gifts out of love. Birthday gifts to my friends consisted of Scrapbooks that “closed” at a resting 45 degrees, special wooden boxes with memories inscribed all around, multi-page letters, and even cards that are the lengths of mini books. I always loved to see the look on someone’s face when you hand them a gift like this. The flood of memories that rush through their minds and the emotional build up as they remember the moments they never they’d revisit. To be honest, no words can truly describe how it feels to take someone’s breath away.

Open When Letters...

Open When Letters… (Photo Courtesy of Megan’s Instagram)

Above are Pinterest inspired “Open When…” letters I gave to Megan as a wedding present. After that gift, I knew I had to follow through with an even bigger one. My target: One Year Anniversary. I started this gift around the same time as her wedding gift. I collected special items from her bridal shower, and then her wedding. The result was a Flower Glass Memory Box. Discloure: I have been pressing flowers since I was a little girl (yes I am actually serious about this). So everytime I see flowers, I always see their potential beyond the standard life cycle. Hence how this project came to be…

Flower Glass Memory Box - Wedding

Items You Need:
– Wooden Box with Glass Panels *available at craft stores
– White Paint (or stain)
– Tape
– Dried Flowers

Instructions

You can either dry out your flowers naturally or use preservatives in the process to retain your flowers’ colors. Drying time will vary from flower to flower, but don’t be frightened if this takes a while (think days to weeks).

In the mean time, you can begin prepping your box. Tape around the edges of the glass so if you make a mess painting/staining, you will not ruin the glass. Once taped up & protected, paint your wooden trim – do as many coats as you need for your desired look.

Once your flowers have dried and your box is complete, you can now assemble! This is my favorite part!! Arrange the flowers any way you want in the box. Think of composition, how it will be viewed/displayed, and what flowers you want from and center.

This is my final look:

Flower Glass Memory Box - Wedding

Flower Glass Memory Box - Wedding

Little Story Behind Each Flower
Baby’s Breath – From My Bouquet at the Wedding

White Rose – Stolen from Her Bouquet
Carnations – Wedding Shower
Pink Rose – Wedding Shower

Megan just received the box yesterday in the mail! Perfect time considering it’s the weekend of love. She nearly cried and could not believe I did this, especially since she was just thinking about how the other day she didn’t save any of her flowers. Happy One Year Anniversary Megan & Jadon! Love you both XOXO

Has anyone ever done something like this before? If so, what did you do? My alternative was putting the flowers in an ornament.

With love, Steph

Leave a Reply

