Frozen Weekend

NYC Train Ride - View of the Docks

Due to the extremely cold weather over the past weekend, my ideal notion of spending Saturday in the city was quickly shattered. Since I knew we could only handle 10 minute intervals outside, we chose to arrive later (closer to show time). I always get excited going to New York because that means I get to take the train – but specifically, the train into Grand Central. Sorry Penn Station, but you will never be any real competition to Grand.

Lunch and Tea Time at Le Pain Quotidien

We arrived at 3pm, and while dinner reservations were at 5:30pm, I was starving. We made a quick stop at Le Pain Quotidien. My BF had the Sweet Potato & Coconut soup with an Americano, while I had Butternut Squash soup with a pot of Earl Grey tea. The little tea pot, cup and creamer were adorable. It made me really want to get a tea pot for my house (I see a purchase in the near future).

Culture Espresso Flat White

Since we still had plenty of time to kill, we went to one of my favorite coffee shops – Culture Espresso. I love the Flat Whites there (what’s pictured above). They are just the right size, and a perfect little treat. Plus who doesn’t appreciate a little coffee art. Always remember to be impressed with people who have this talent because it is not that easy to do!

Culture Espresso Decor Chandelier

Also, just admire this decor. I think we can all agree (or at least people who have the same taste) that we all want one of these in our houses. Every time I go to Culture Espresso, I inevitably end up looking up just to appreciate these little beauties #chandeliergoals.

Culture Espresso Coffee Cup Art

Above is just a little cup art work for your admiration! Prints change on the cups, so it is always nice to see the art I’m holding every time I manage to get into the city. After coffee, we still had an awkward amount of time before dinner. We decided to make our way up to the Theatre District. Along the way, I wanted to take a look in Forever 21 – partially because I wanted to browse, but more because it was a warm break. After a shopping fail, we continued our journey to the resturant. Where was our dining experience? Meson Sevilla.

Meson Sevilla & Sangria

Meson Sevilla is a little Spanish restaurant located right in the Theatre District. Since we knew it would be in the negatives that night, we wanted to eat somewhere close to our final destination. We started off with drink – I enjoyed the house red Sangria. It was a large glass, and fully delicious. Definitely worth it! For dinner, I had a rack of lamb (which usually is my special food treat). Dessert was Creme Brulee and mint tea.

Al Hirschfeld Theatre - Kinky Boots

We made our way to the Al Hirschfeld Theatre to see the show. Kinky Boots was my first ever Broadway experience, and I was ecstatic to take everything in. After my experience, I must say I am addicted. I have goals of seeing Hamilton and Book of Mormon in the near future! P.S. Wayne Brandy’s performance was phenomenal! Everyone’s was! On a side note:  I wish I got high heal training like those actors did. Full respect to all the men dancing and doing an array of stunts in heels. I get excited when I can walk in a straight line without tripping over anything when wearing heals! Grace is not my specialty.

Grand Central

By the time the show was over, we made our way to the metro shuttle. I was exhausted. We caught the 11:26pm train, and it was 2am by the time we were home. I might be 24, but oh my I do not live the life of one lol It was a long night, but worth it. The shower when we got home, I must admit, was a painful one as my toes and fingers reheated.

Happy Valentine's Day - Red Lips & Top Bun

Despite getting in so late, my body was still wired to wake up early. I woke at 740am, finished wrapping presents, and started prepping cinnamon rolls. The plan was to get the dough situated early because it needed time to rise. In the mean time, we took the opportunity to run out to the store to grab the rest of the needed ingredients, as well as items for dinner.

Homemade Cinnamon Rolls

When we got back, I had to finish the rolls – poured the brown sugar & cinnamon over the dough and rolled to make these little guys. I love getting food shots when they are in their raw state.

Homemade Cinnamon Rolls

The house smelled amazing after these were done. Cinnamon Rolls are one of my favorite treats to make and are surprising very simple. I could eat them all day long! The final product is below. If you missed my last Valentine’s Day, here is the recipe I use.

Homemade Cinnamon Rolls

After eating our rolls, we ran one more errand and then remained inside. It was still a penguin habitat outside (GG reference if you watch that show). I spent the day watching TV, writing a blog post, and snuggling with a blanket. For Valentine’s Day dinner we made Sweet Potato & Coconut Soup, after being inspired from the restaurant, with a baguette. It was comforting and delicious. I will do a proper post on it soon!

P.S. In case you were wondering, no I did not make homemade gummies yet. Our grocery stores around the house did not have the right kind of fruit juices. We will have to make a trip to Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods. When I make them, I will do a post on them as well (as long as there is an end result to actually post about haha).

What are some of your favorite restaurants, places or coffee shops in NYC? I wish it hadn’t been so cold, otherwise I would have been all about that exploring life. I hope you guys had an amazing weekend filled with love, no matter who you chose to spend it with! If you had any cool plans, let me know!

With love, Steph

One comment

Leave a Reply

