Time to Steep #18 – DavidsTea Halloween Collection

My typical routine: waking up early Sunday, heading over to Trader Joes, and then popping into my local DavidsTea to stock up (or enjoy a nice cuppa). Having an actual, in-store experience when purchasing my tea makes everything more enjoyable: the excitement that overcomes me as I see the store from afar, the casual stroll I take around the pre-packaged items, and the approach to the counter as I embark on my journey to sniff everything in sight. At the end of the day, not only do I get to buy any amount I desire when I go into a store, but I do not have to pay for shipping! When I saw that DavidsTea released teas for Halloween, I jumped online to check them out. I was about to parade myself towards the store, when I realied that two of teas were online exclusives. I decided to take the plunge and experience my first online purchase! My final cart consisted of 2oz of each Halloween tea (plus an additional 2oz of one type) and another order of Pom Cider because…#obsessed.

DavidsTea Swampwater

Swampwater
Ingredients: Green rooibos, strawberry granules, calendula, black and orange candies, orange, pineapple, flavourig. (Contains soy)
I must admit, I am a person who loves green drinks. They don’t creep me out or look disgusting – to me greens look delicious and healthy. The moment I read that Swampwater was a murky green, I was sold. I could imagine myself drinking this through a clear cup for the whole world to see and get freaked out.
Surprisingly, Swampwater is a tropical tea, basking in papaya, passion fruit, strawberry and pineapple. It was actually retired and brought back for the Halloween! While during the cooler months, I swap out most of my fruity (ice tea driven) teas with cinnamons, ciders and chocolates, there is still a spot on my shelf for Swampwater. In hard times, it brings me to my happy place! Also, knowing beforehand that this tea was so tropical, did solidify my decision to buy extra for next summer. If you are a person who enjoys drinking green, I recommend this drink! And no, there is no kale or spinach inside…sorry to disappoint!

DavidsTea Witch's Brew

Witch’s Brew
Ingredients: Cocoa beans, roobios, cocoa husk, orange and black candies, sweet blackberry leaves, elderbrry flower, safflower petals, flavouring
“Double Double, toil and trouble, fire burn and teapot bubble!” What is Halloween season without a little witch’s brew! I was actually surprised that half of the Halloween teas were chocolate based. My preference for chocolate teas peaks in the winter/holiday months, so I was a tad disappointed in the multiple chocolate releases. I wish there was more variety – maybe something that is reminicent of a Halloween Candy! In the end, I’m not sure what I would have imagined Witch’s Brew to be like, but it wasn’t this. Now, this doesn’t mean that the tea doesn’t taste good…because it does! The chocolate notes are lovely, while the floral components cut the cocoa from becoming sickly sweet. Witch’s Brew is such a great altervative to unhealthy, chocolate candies.
Remember, not all chocolate teas are the same. So if you are on the hunt, take your time in finding the one you like. PS – Witch’s Brew is so delightful to look at – little witch hats brighten the pot while cocoa husk/rooibos look like fall grounds.

DavidsTea Stormy Night

Spooky Nights (No Longer Available)
Ingredients: Black tea, chocolate (cocoa beans, sugar, cocoa butter, ground vanilla bean, ancho chilli, nutmeg, cinnamon, salt, allspice, clove chipotle chilli), cinnamon, coconut flakes, vanilla bean.
First, I must appologize for reviewing this tea when it is no longer available. I promse to keeps this short and sweet to not make matters worse! Spooky Nights sets itself a part from your standard chocolate tea by using chilli chocolate – it adds a touch warmth throughout your cup. Many chocolate companions, like cinnamon and coconut, are utilized here to trancend the flavor profile. Imagine yourself on a crisp, fall night about to watch a scary movie – this is the tea that captures that moment! Astetically, the coconuts flakes are glorious and the chocolate chunks are to die for. The combination, when sipping, creates a silky cocoa dream. DavidsTea does kill it with all their chocolate variations! I fully recommend any of them, especially with agave and milk.

DavidsTea Maple Sugar

Maple Sugar
Ingredients: Black tea, apple, cinnamon, maple syrup pieces, monk fruit, natural maple flavouring
If you had to pick a DavidsTea that encompasses Canada, it would either be Oh Canada! or Maple Sugar. I was BEYOND ecstatic to try this one out. In case you didn’t already know, I have a thing for Canada (check out this previous post). Right now, if I could split my time between here and there, I would (well I would also split my time between a few other places, but that’s an entirely different story). I am delighted when companies embrace their roots and create items that celebrate who they are. Maple Sugar is everything I would expect from a Canadian tea. The maple is inviting, while caramel notes sweeten your body. The apple and cinnamon add a touch of fall that warms the soul. If you aren’t a fan of maple, it will be a challenge to like this tea. Its taste is true to the name.
Bonus: Want to take this tea to an entirely new maple level?? Try using maple syrup to sweeten.

DavidsTea Halloween Pumpkin

I hope you all had a wonderful Halloween this year! I found my new favorite thing – pumpkin painting. It’s way less messy and your pumpkins last so much longer. I thoroughly enjoyed my El Dia de Los Muertos pumpkin.

With love, Stephie xoxo

Leave a comment